Department of Community Services

Sport & Recreation

Major Games

Major games are large multi-sport events that are held on a regular basis, such as the Canada Games or Arctic Winter Games. The Government of Yukon provides funding and support for athletes to participate in all major games.

Arctic Winter Games (AWG)

The Arctic Winter Games (AWG) are held every two years and include participants from Northwest Territories, Nunavut, Alaska, Northern Alberta, Russia, Greenland, Scandinavia, and Yukon. The next AWG will be held in Whitehorse in March 2020.

Canada Games

The Canada Winter Games (CWG) and Canada Summer Games (CSG) operate on a four-year cycle, with a Canada Games being held every two years, alternating between summer and winter sports. The next CWG will be held in February 2019 in Red Deer, Alberta.          

Western Canada Summer Games (WCSG)

The Western Canada Summer Games are held every four years, with teams from all three territories and the four western-most provinces. The next WCSG will be hosted in Swift Current, Saskatchewan in August 2019.

North American Indigenous Games (NAIG)

The North American Indigenous Games are held every three years and involve participants of First Nations ancestry in a variety of traditional and non-traditional sporting activities. NAIG includes participants from Canada and the United States. The next NAIG are expected to be held in 2020.

Canada 55+ Games

The Canada 55+ Games are held every two years and includes sports and activities such as badminton, bowling, cribbage, curling, horseshoes, slo-pitch, and swimming. Participants at these Games are adults 55 years and older. The next Canada 55+ Games will take place in Saint John, New Brunswick in August 2018. 

Special Olympics

The Special Olympic Canada Games take place every two years, alternating between summer and winter sports. The next Special Olympic Canada Summer Games will take place in Antigonish, Nova Scotia in 2018.