Department of Community Services

Office of the Superintendent of Securities

Office of the Yukon Superintendent of Securities

CFTC and Four Canadian Authorities Sign Counterparts to Memorandum of Understanding to Enhance Supervision of Cross-Border Regulated Entities

July 28, 2016 - The Office of the Yukon Superintendent of Securities has joined most other Canadian jurisdictions in signing a Memorandum of Understanding with the United States Commodity Futures Trading Commission (CFTC) regarding the exchange of information in relation to the supervision of cross-border covered entities from a securities regulatory perspective.  

For more information, visit the CFTC website.

Capital Markets Regulatory Authority initial board of directors and new implementation timelines announced

July 22, 2016 – The ministers responsible for capital markets regulation in several Canadian jurisdictions and the minister of finance of Canada have chosen the Authority's board of directors and announced timelines. Once created, the Authority will be the single regulator administering the proposed uniform provincial-territorial Capital Markets Act and complementary federal Capital Markets Stability Act. When passed, these acts would form the legislative cornerstones of the new Cooperative Capital Markets Regulatory System.  

Read the news release 

Yukon has joined the Cooperative Capital Markets Regulatory System

The Government of Yukon has joined the governments of British Columbia, Ontario, Saskatchewan, New Brunswick, Prince Edward Island, and Canada in delegating the regulation of securities to a common regulator by signing on to the Cooperative Capital Markets Regulatory System. View the Cooperative Capital Markets Regulatory System's website for more about the Cooperative system, and for News and Publications.

View the news release, Yukon joins the Cooperative Capital Markets Regulatory System April 15, 2015

What we do

The Office of the Yukon Superintendent of Securities, which is part of the Department of Community Services, is responsible for administering Yukon’s securities laws. It works to foster fair and efficient capital markets, and protect investors. As a member of the Canadian Securities Administrators, an association of the 13 securities regulators across Canada, we work to improve, coordinate and harmonize the regulation of Canada's capital markets.

Yukon’s securities legislation is designed to ensure that the territory’s capital market operates fairly and efficiently for participants, and that investors have timely, accurate information on which to base investment decisions. It also works to ensure that those who sell securities in Yukon are registered and that they conduct themselves according to applicable laws and professional standards.

Yukon Superintendent of Securities is empowered to hear enforcement proceedings and to consider applications for exemptions from the requirements of the securities legislation.

Contact Office of the Superintendent of Securities

Location (Courier Address)
307 Black Street, 1st Floor
Whitehorse, Yukon
Y1A 2N1

Mailing Address
PO Box 2703 (C-6)
Whitehorse, Yukon
Y1A 2C6

Hours of Operation: 8:30 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.

Cheques Payable to: Yukon Government

Phone: (867) 667-5466
Toll free (in Yukon): 1-800-661-0408 local 5466
Fax: (867) 393-6251