Department of Community Services

Emergency Medical Services

Emergency Medical Services

About EMS

Emergency Medical Services practitioners are responsible for the emergency care and transportation of the sick and injured both within Yukon and to specialist care in Southern Canada.

The Whitehorse, Watson Lake and Dawson City stations are staffed by Primary Care Paramedics (PCP). The medevac crews (based in Whitehorse) consist of Critical Care Nurses, Critical Care Paramedics and Advanced Care Paramedics. All other Yukon communities are served by volunteer Emergency Medical Responders who are trained by the Yukon Government and work closely with Primary Health Care Nurses in rural communities.  With the exception of Old Crow, all communities have one or more ambulances.

Service Area

The territorial call volume is about 1,365 calls per year in communities and 5,828 in Whitehorse. 

9-1-1 is available across Yukon. Local emergency numbers in the communities remain in service.

For health information, call the Yukon HealthLine at 8-1-1 or learn about community health centres online.

 Yukon EMS Map

(click to enlarge)