Department of Community Services

Emergency Medical Services

Emergency Medical Services

About EMS

Emergency Medical Services practitioners are responsible for the emergency care and transportation of the sick and injured both within Yukon and to specialist care in Southern Canada.

The Whitehorse, Watson Lake and Dawson City stations are staffed by Primary Care Paramedics (PCP). The medevac crews (based in Whitehorse) consist of Critical Care Nurses, Critical Care Paramedics and Advanced Care Paramedics. All other Yukon communities are served by volunteer Emergency Medical Responders who are trained by the Yukon Government and work closely with nurses (Community Nurse Practitioners) in rural communities.  With the exception of Old Crow, all communities have one or more ambulances.

Service Area

The territorial call volume is about 1365 calls per year in communities and 5828 in Whitehorse. 

911 is available within a 50 mile radius of Whitehorse. For medical help in the communities, contact the community health center for your area.

 Yukon EMS Map

(click to enlarge)