Services aux collectivités

Évaluation et impôt foncier

Politique et lignes directrices relatives à l’électrification des régions rurales

Version imprimable (  37 Ko)

1. Objectifs et aperçu du programme

Ce programme vise à faciliter le prolongement du réseau de distribution d’électricité aux propriétaires dont le bien foncier résidentiel rural, l’entreprise commerciale à faible demande d’énergie ou autre bien foncier non industriel se situe à l’extérieur des limites d’une municipalité légalement constituée et relève de l’administration fiscale du gouvernement du Yukon.

Les projets admissibles comprennent les branchements uniques (une seule propriété) et les branchements collectifs (plusieurs propriétés) dans les territoires plus vastes. Les services inclus comprennent la planification, la conception et la gestion des projets, ainsi que leur financement à un taux d’intérêt avantageux.
Le programme est parrainé conjointement par la Société de développement du Yukon et le ministère des Services aux collectivités.

2.  Définitions

Service de remplacement : électricité produite par une source d’énergie renouvelable, comme le vent, le soleil et l’eau, et distribuée au moyen d’une installation autonome permanente qui n’est pas reliée au réseau WAF (Whitehorse/Aishihik/Faro) et qui dessert une seule propriété

Coûts en capital : coûts engagés pour le branchement d’un service de distribution électrique primaire ou d’un service de distribution électrique secondaire
Intérêt : taux pratiqué par la Banque du Canada lorsque le bulletin postal pour l’approbation du projet est envoyé

Propriétaire, dans le cas d’un bien réel :

a) propriétaire en fief simple d’un bien réel ou droit de propriété qui comprend les droits, les obligations et les responsabilités équivalant au droit de propriété en fief simple, particulièrement les terres de catégories A et B visées par le règlement et dont le gouvernement du Yukon est l’autorité fiscale pour le bien réel

b) acheteur par suite d’un contrat de vente avec le gouvernement du Yukon ou le gouvernement du Canada

c) preneur à bail avec le gouvernement du Yukon ou le gouvernement du Canada lorsque la période restante du bail portant sur le bien réel sur lequel les taxes foncières sont payables par le preneur à bail est égale ou supérieure à la période d’amortissement

d) ministère des Affaires indiennes et du Nord canadien qui agit au nom d’une bande indienne concernant des terres réservées ou mises de côté au moyen d’une inscription dans le registre des biens fonciers du Ministère.

Service de distribution électrique primaire : ligne de distribution électrique principale desservant toutes les propriétés d’un secteur visé, y compris les poteaux ou les conducteurs souterrains et tous les transformateurs haute tension nécessaires

Bien foncier rural : bien réel situé à l’extérieur des limites d’une municipalité

Service de distribution électrique secondaire : ligne de distribution électrique reliant une installation d’alimentation électrique primaire à une seule propriété, y compris les lignes de transport, les poteaux et les conducteurs souterrains, ainsi que le ou les transformateurs directement nécessaires pour un branchement unique

Secteur visé : zone rurale dont les limites ont été définies par la Société d’énergie du Yukon et la Yukon Electrical Company Limited, s’il y a lieu, avec l’appui des propriétaires fonciers concernés et du ministère des Services aux collectivités.


3.  Principes et pratiques

La politique relative à l’électrification des régions rurales repose sur les principes et pratiques généraux exposés ci-après. Ceux-ci serviront à orienter les décisions dans les cas qui ne sont pas explicitement prévus.

A. Satisfaction des besoins des Yukonnais vivant en milieu rural

La fourniture de services d’électrification des régions rurales se fait en réponse aux demandes exprimées par les propriétaires ruraux.

B. Participation publique
Les propriétaires de biens fonciers ruraux susceptibles de bénéficier du programme ou d’être directement touchés par celui-ci ont la possibilité de participer aux processus de planification et de prise de décision visant les projets d’électrification.

C. Approbation démocratique des projets
L’approbation des projets d’électrification des régions rurales se fait au moyen d’un vote démocratique à la majorité qualifiée des propriétaires du secteur visé.

D. Rentabilité, planification avisée et normes des services publics
Les services sont planifiés en fonction de l’aménagement du secteur et de la collectivité, en accord avec les normes en vigueur et en tenant compte des répercussions sur l’ensemble du réseau.

E. Plein recouvrement des coûts
Les propriétaires du secteur visé doivent contribuer de manière équitable aux coûts totaux des projets d’électrification de leur propriété.

F. Répartition équitable et proportionnelle des coûts
Les propriétaires qui bénéficient d’une juste part des avantages procurés par les services d’électrification, à la fois au moment où le projet est achevé et ultérieurement, doivent payer une part équitable et proportionnelle des frais engagés.

G. Création de partenariats
La fourniture des services de distribution d’électricité en milieu rural doit être assurée conjointement et en partenariat par les propriétaires, les fournisseurs de services et le gouvernement du Yukon.


4.   Critères

4.1    Admissibilité

Les demandeurs admissibles sont les propriétaires yukonnais, tels qu’ils sont définis dans la section 2, dont le bien foncier résidentiel rural, l’entreprise commerciale à faible demande d’énergie ou autre bien foncier non industriel se situe à l’extérieur des limites d’une municipalité légalement constituée.

Pour être admissible, une demande de branchement unique pour un service d’électricité autonome de remplacement doit nécessiter un financement minimal de 1 M$.

Sont exclus :

Les promoteurs ayant entrepris l’aménagement d’un lotissement et son raccordement aux services; toutefois, s’ils détiennent une minorité du nombre total des propriétés d’une zone desservie, ils ont le droit de participer aux processus décrits dans les sections 5.2 et 5.4.

Les gros clients industriels isolés visés par le décret 1995/090 et les projets de développement des ressources qui sont admissibles au titre du Règlement sur les prêts concernant l’infrastructure énergétique pour le développement des ressources (décret 1993/099 modifié).

4.2    Étendue des services d’électricité

Le financement prévu au titre du programme concerne la mise en place d’une infrastructure de distribution électrique primaire et secondaire et/ou de services de remplacement permanents. Des dispositions peuvent être prises afin d’améliorer les installations de transport ou de sous-station, si cela est nécessaire pour mener à bien un projet d’électrification des régions rurales.

Seuls les projets de mise en place d’infrastructures et d’installations respectant les normes et spécifications des services publics ou les autres codes et normes en vigueur seront appuyés. S’appliquent également les règlements relatifs aux services d’électricité approuvés par la Régie des entreprises de services publics.

4.3    Financement
4.3.1  Financement du programme

Le financement du Programme de télécommunications et d’électrification des régions rurales est établi annuellement selon les crédits budgétaires approuvés par l’Assemblée législative du Yukon.

4.3.2  Modalités de financement des projets

Les coûts des projets sont déterminés d’une manière globale et comprennent la planification extraordinaire non prévue normalement par le fournisseur de services, les coûts en capital et les intérêts sur le capital amorti.

Le financement de chaque projet, à l’exception des contributions des fournisseurs de services, est limité à un montant correspondant à 25 % de la valeur totale de la propriété (valeur foncière) et des améliorations réalisées dans le secteur visé. L’investissement est recouvré à l’aide d’une taxe d’améliorations locales fixée pour chaque propriétaire, en vertu de la Loi sur l’évaluation et la taxation.

4.3.3 Contributions des services publics

La Société d’énergie du Yukon ou la Yukon Electrical Company Limited peuvent verser des contributions limitées, en accord avec les règlements relatifs aux services d’électricité approuvés par la Régie des entreprises de services publics du Yukon.

Sous réserve d’une justification fondée sur les avantages procurés à d’autres abonnés ou au réseau dans son ensemble et des approbations réglementaires et budgétaires connexes pouvant s’appliquer, la Société d’énergie du Yukon ou la Société de développement du Yukon peuvent contribuer à améliorer ou à modifier les installations de transport ou de sous-station dans le cadre d’un projet d’électrification des régions rurales.

4.3.4  Répartition équitable des coûts

Tous les propriétaires fonciers du secteur visé par le projet doivent s’acquitter d’une part équitable des coûts totaux engagés depuis le début du projet, par un paiement unique ou au moyen d’une taxe d’améliorations locales incluse dans leur avis annuel d’impôt foncier. Cette taxe peut être étalée sur une période de quinze ans selon la taille du projet et, si possible, selon les préférences exprimées par les propriétaires.

4.3.5  Contribution juste aux réseaux existants

Les propriétaires d’un bien foncier situé à l’extérieur du secteur initialement visé qui décident ultérieurement de participer à un projet d’électrification rurale déjà réalisé peuvent faire une demande d’infrastructure localisée dans leur secteur, qui sera considérée comme un projet distinct.

Les propriétaires qui demandent un branchement à un réseau électrique déjà installé en vertu de ce programme sont tenus, pendant la période de quinze ans suivant l’achèvement du projet initial, de contribuer de façon proportionnelle et juste aux coûts de celui-ci. Cette somme est ensuite déduite des montants dus par les propriétaires du secteur d’origine, à moins que le service public ne l’ait déjà fait.

Les propriétaires du secteur d’origine qui occupent une propriété dont le régime foncier n’était pas approuvé légalement au moment où le projet a été réalisé sont tenus, au cours des quinze années suivant l’achèvement du projet initial, de contribuer de façon proportionnelle et juste aux coûts de celui-ci. Cette somme est ensuite déduite des montants dus par les propriétaires du secteur d’origine, à moins que le service public ne l’ait déjà fait.


5.    Processus de demande et d’approbation

5.1   Expression d’intérêt

On peut obtenir les formulaires de demande auprès de la Section de l’évaluation et de l’impôt foncier (ministère des Services aux collectivités) et les remettre ensuite à cette dernière dûment remplis. Les demandes sont traitées selon le principe du « premier arrivé, premier servi ».

5.1.1  a) Services autonomes

Dans le cas d’une demande visant un service électrique autonome de remplacement destiné à une seule propriété, le ou les demandeurs sont encouragés à solliciter des devis auprès de plusieurs fournisseurs de services. Si, après analyse technique, les propositions reçues ne sont pas jugées rentables ou concurrentielles, le ou les demandeurs sont tenus de rechercher d’autres offres de services.

Aux fins de l’examen technique et de l’approbation, le ou les demandeurs doivent fournir les renseignements suivants :

  • propriété visée par le projet;
  • caractéristiques et avantages du projet;
  • renseignements précis sur l’équipement, y compris les coûts.


b) Autres projets à branchement unique

Avec l’appui du ou des demandeurs, les projets à branchement unique peuvent passer à l’étape « Planification détaillée et évaluation complète des coûts ».

5.1.2  Branchements collectifs

Pour les demandes de branchement de plusieurs propriétés, c’est la Société d’énergie du Yukon, en collaboration avec le ministère des Services aux collectivités et la Yukon Electrical Company Limited, s’il y a lieu, qui se charge des travaux préliminaires, à savoir la délimitation du secteur visé, la détermination des besoins d’infrastructure, l’évaluation des coûts, y compris la fixation d’un dépôt raisonnable pour la planification, au besoin, et les options de financement.

Avec l’appui du ou des demandeurs et de tous les autres bénéficiaires, les petits projets peuvent passer à l’étape « Planification détaillée et évaluation complète des coûts. »

Pour les autres projets, si l’intérêt se confirme après examen des renseignements préliminaires avec le ou les promoteurs, une réunion d’information publique peut être organisée par le ministère des Services aux collectivités en coopération avec le service public et les promoteurs. Le projet peut passer à l’étape « Vote d’appui » ou prendre fin à ce stade.

5.2    Vote d’appui

On peut demander aux propriétaires du secteur visé de se prononcer sur le projet d’électrification par vote postal (1er vote). La trousse envoyée à cet effet renferme des renseignements sur les services proposés et le montant du dépôt pouvant être exigé pour les frais de planification.

Chaque propriétaire indique ainsi s’il est d’accord pour que le projet passe à l’étape de la planification détaillée et de l’évaluation complète des coûts. Cette décision doit être approuvée par une majorité qualifiée qui a été fixée à 65 % des répondants.

5.3    Planification détaillée et évaluation complète des coûts

Si l’appui voulu est obtenu et si le dépôt éventuellement exigé est versé, les organismes de parrainage procèdent à la planification détaillée, à l’évaluation complète des coûts et à l’analyse financière. Un plan de services et un budget sont préparés par la Société d’énergie du Yukon ou la Yukon Electrical Company Limited, ou le fournisseur de services retenu, et le ministère des Services aux collectivités établit la taxe d’améliorations locales que devront payer les propriétaires.

Si le plan et le budget diffèrent sensiblement de ceux présentés à l’origine, les propriétaires concernés ont la possibilité d’examiner plus avant la proposition avant de procéder au second vote.

Le plan de financement comprend les contributions voulues de la Société d’énergie du Yukon ou de la Yukon Electrical Company Limited, en conformité avec les règlements relatifs aux services d’électricité, ainsi que diverses contributions, s’il y a lieu, justifiées par les avantages procurés à d’autres abonnés ou au réseau dans son ensemble.

5.4    Approbation du projet par les propriétaires
5.4.1  Branchements uniques

Après avoir accordé le financement, le ministère des Services aux collectivités demande au propriétaire de signer une entente dans laquelle ce dernier autorise la réalisation du projet et s’engage à respecter les modalités de remboursement.

5.4.2  Branchements collectifs

Après avoir accordé le financement et s’être assuré de la faisabilité du projet, on procède à un nouveau vote postal (2e vote). La trousse envoyée à cet effet renferme les renseignements voulus pour comprendre les incidences financières et les coûts du projet d’électrification pour chaque propriété; chaque propriétaire indique ainsi s’il est d’accord pour que le projet soit réalisé selon les plans et le budget établis.

Cette décision doit être approuvée par une majorité qualifiée qui a été fixée à 65 % des propriétaires du secteur visé.

5.5  Installation

Si le soutien voulu est obtenu, la Société d’énergie du Yukon et/ou la Yukon Electrical Company Limited, ou le fournisseur de services dans le cas d’un service de remplacement, se chargent de l’installation des services d’électricité en fonction des contributions qui ont été approuvées par le ou les propriétaires du secteur visé.

5.6  Recouvrement des coûts

Quand le projet est achevé et les coûts définitifs connus, un règlement conforme à la Loi sur l’évaluation et l’impôt est préparé afin de fixer la taxe d’améliorations locales imposée à toutes les propriétés du secteur visé, en vue du recouvrement des coûts. Cette taxe peut être payée chaque année pendant une période définie (quinze ans maximum) ou en un seul versement.

Si le ministère découvre qu’un système autonome financé par le programme ne fonctionne pas ou a été enlevé, il peut exiger que le propriétaire en cause règle immédiatement la totalité de la taxe.

5.7  Report

Lorsqu’un réseau de distribution d’électricité dessert un groupe de propriétés, un propriétaire peut choisir de ne pas se raccorder immédiatement et de signer une entente qui reporte le paiement de la taxe d’améliorations locales pendant une période de quinze ans maximum, sous réserve d’une modification législative, à compter de la date d’achèvement des travaux.

Le propriétaire est tenu de commencer à payer la taxe

1)  s’il se raccorde au service;
2)  à l’expiration de la période de report.

Le propriétaire doit s’acquitter de la totalité de la taxe si la propriété est vendue.

Department of Community Services

Property Assessment and Taxation

Rural Electrification Policy & Guidelines

Printable Version ( 155KB)

1. Objective and Program Overview

The program objective is to facilitate the extension of electrical services to rural residential, small load commercial and other non-industrial property outside incorporated communities where the Yukon Government is the property taxation authority.

The program will consider support for a range of electrical service installations from single site specific installations to multiple properties in larger geographic areas. It provides planning, design, project management, and project financing at favorable interest rates.

The program is jointly sponsored by the Yukon Development Corporation (YDC) and the Department of Community Services (CS).

2. Definitions

“alternative service” means electrical power generated from sustainable energy sources such as wind, solar, and water and distributed from a permanent standalone installation not connected to the WAF (Whitehorse/Aishihik/Faro electrical transmission) grid that is serving a single property;

“capital costs” means costs relating to the construction of a primary electrical service extension or a secondary service extension;

“interest” is Bank of Canada rate in effect at the time the project approval ballot survey is issued;

“owner” with respect to real property means:

(a) an owner with fee simple title or ownership in which the rights, obligations and liabilities are equivalent to fee simple, specifically Category A and Category B Settlement Land where the Yukon Government is the property taxation authority;

(b) a purchaser by way of agreement for sale with the Government of the Yukon or the Government of Canada;

(c) a lessee from the Government of the Yukon or the Government of Canada, and where the remaining term of the lease for which the property taxes are payable by the lessee is equal to or greater than the amortization period ; or

(d) the Department of Indian Affairs and Northern Development acting on behalf of the Indian Band with respect to land which has been reserved or set aside by notation in the property records of the Department of Indian Affairs and Northern Development.

“primary electrical service” means the main electrical power distribution line for all properties within a project area, including supporting poles or underground conductors, and all necessary high voltage transformers;

“rural property” means real property located outside of the boundaries of a municipality;

“secondary electrical service” means the electrical power distribution line required to deliver electrical power to a property from a primary electrical service, including all transmission lines, supporting poles and underground conductors, including the transformer(s) directly required as a part of an individual service connection located on the property;

“project area” means an area of rural property, the boundaries of which have been defined by the Yukon Energy Corporation and Yukon Electrical Company Ltd. where appropriate , with input from affected property owners and the Department of Community Services.

3. Principles and Practices

The Rural Electrification Policy is based on the following general principles and practices. These principles and practices will be used to guide operational decisions that are not covered by explicit policy provisions.

A. Responsiveness to Needs of Rural Yukoners

The provision of rural electrification services will be in response to requests from rural property owners.

B. Public Participation

The rural property owners that may benefit or be directly impacted will have the opportunity to participate in both the planning and decision-making processes for electrification projects.

C. Democratic Project Approval

The approval of rural electrification projects will be determined through a democratic vote of a special majority of the property owners in the project area.

D. Cost-effectiveness, Prudent Planning, and Utility Standards

Services must be planned from an area and community development perspective consistent with applicable standards and impacts for the systems as a whole.

E. Full Cost Recovery

Property owners within a project area must contribute a fair share of the full costs for providing rural electrical services to their properties.

F. Equitable and Proportional Distribution of Costs

Property owners who receive an equitable benefit from a rural electrification service, both at the time the service is provided or at a subsequent time, should pay an equitable and proportional share of the costs of the service.

G. Creating Partnerships

The provision of rural electrical services should be achieved by property owners, service providers and the Yukon Government working in a cooperative, open partnership.

4. Criteria

4.1 Eligibility

Eligible applicants are rural Yukon people, small load commercial and other non-industrial businesses or property owners seeking the extension of electrical services to property outside the boundary of an incorporated community who are owners as defined in Section 2.

To be eligible, an application for stand-alone alternative electrification service to a single property must require funding of at least $1,000.00.

Specific Exclusions

Developers who have undertaken the construction and servicing of a subdivision are not eligible applicants, however where a developer continues to hold a minority number of the total properties in a service area, the developer is included under 5.2 and 5.4.

Major and isolated industrial customers subject to OIC 1995/090 and resource development projects eligible under the Energy Infrastructure Loans for Resource Development Program (OIC 1993/099 as amended) are not eligible applicants.

4.2 Scope of electrical services

Program funding is intended to enable installation of primary and secondary electrical distribution infrastructure and/or permanently installed alternative services to property. Where necessary, provision may be made for improvements to transmission or substation facilities to allow a rural electrification project to proceed.

Only infrastructure and installations meeting utility standards and specifications or other applicable codes and standards will be supported. Electrical service regulations approved by the Yukon Utilities Board also apply.

4.3 Financing

4.3.1 Program Financing

The level of program funding available for financing electrification projects through the Rural Electrification and Telecommunication Program, is set each year by appropriation. Funding availability shall be subject to the necessary approval of the Yukon Legislative Assembly.

4.3.2 Project Financing Terms and Conditions

Projects costs are determined on an all-inclusive basis including extraordinary planning not normally covered by the service provider, capital costs, and interest on the amortized principal.

Funding for each project, excluding any contribution by the service provider, is limited to a loan maximum of 25% of the total assessed value of land and improvements within the project area. The investment is secured through a local improvement charge to property owners, under the authority of the Assessment and Taxation Act.

4.3.3 Public Utility Contributions

Limited contributions may be available from the Yukon Energy Corporation or The Yukon Electrical Company Ltd. (YECL) in accordance with the electrical service regulations approved by the Yukon Utilities Board.

Subject to justification based on the benefits to other rate payers or the system as a whole, and related regulatory and budgetary approvals that may apply, the Yukon Energy Corporation or Yukon Development Corporation may contribute to upgrading or changes to transmission or substation facilities as part of a rural electrification project.

4.3.4 Equitable Allocation of Costs

All property owners within the area covered by the project will be allocated an equitable portion of the all inclusive project cost from the outset, either as a lump sum or through a local improvement charge, identified on the annual property tax notice, and amortized over a term of up to 15 years depending on the size of the project, and where possible, the preference stated by the affected property owners.

4.3.5 Fair Contribution Toward Existing Systems

Properties outside the original project area who, at a later date, choose to subscribe to an already implemented rural electrification project may apply for the electrical infrastructure specific to their project area, which would be calculated as a separate new project.

Property owners who apply for a service extension which is dependent on an existing electrical system extension that was implemented under this program shall, for a period of 15 years following completion of the initial project, make a fair and proportional contribution toward the costs of the existing electrical system extension. The contribution will be rebated to the owners of property in the original project area, unless they have already been rebated by the utility.

Properties inside the original project area that were not yet approved for legal land tenure when the initial project was completed shall, for a period of 15 years following completion of the initial project, make a fair and proportional contribution toward the costs of the existing electrical system extension. The contribution will be rebated to the owners of property in the original project area, unless they have already been rebated by the utility.

5. Application and Approval Process

5.1 Expression of Interest

Application forms are available from, and must be submitted to, Property Assessment and Taxation, Department of Community Services. Requests are dealt with on a first come, first served basis.

5.1.1. a) Stand-alone Services

For an application requesting stand-alone alternative energy service to one property, the applicant(s) are encouraged to solicit competitive proposals from service providers. If the proposed project is determined, through the technical analysis, to be not cost-effective or not competitive, the applicant(s) will be required to seek competitive proposals

The applicant(s) must provide information for technical review and approval which includes:

· property that would be served by the proposed solution;

· features and benefits of the proposed solution;

· detailed information on equipment including costs.

b) Other Single Property Services

With the support of the applicant(s), a project benefiting a single property can proceed to “Detailed Planning and Costing”.

5.1.2 Multiple Property Application

For an application requesting service to two or more properties, preliminary work on the identification of project area, infrastructure requirements, costing including a reasonable planning deposit, if required and financing alternatives, will be undertaken through the Yukon Energy Corporation in cooperation with the Department of Community Services and The Yukon Electrical Company Limited where appropriate.

With the support of the applicant(s), and any other beneficiaries, small projects, can proceed to “Detailed Planning and Costing”.

For other projects, if interest is sustained after the review of preliminary information with project proponent(s), a public information meeting may be organized by the Department of Community Services in cooperation with the appropriate utility and proponents. A project may proceed to the Verification of Support Vote or lapse at this stage.

5.2 Verification of Support Vote

Formal survey of all property owners within the project area proposed for electrification services may be undertaken through a mail ballot survey (Vote #1). The Ballot will provide information about the proposed service, and the amount of the planning deposit required, if any, from property owners in the project area.

Each property owner will have the opportunity to vote on whether the project should proceed to detailed planning and costing. Approval by a special majority of 65% of those who respond to the survey ballot is required..

5.3 Detailed Planning and Costing

If the required support is obtained and the planning deposit, if any, is paid, the sponsoring agencies proceed with detailed planning, costing and financing analysis. A specific service plan and budget estimate will be prepared by the Yukon Energy Corporation or The Yukon Electrical Company Ltd., or the appropriate service provider, along with a forecast by the Department of Community Services of the local improvement charges the property owner(s) would pay.

If there is a significant and material change in the final project plan and cost estimates, the proposal may be subject to further review with affected property owners before it can proceed for project approval voting.

The financing plan will include eligible contributions by YEC or YECL pursuant to the Electrical Service Regulations, and other contributions, if any, justified on the basis of benefits to other rate payers or the system as a whole.

5.4 Project Approval by Property Owners

5.4.1 Single Property Application

After confirming program loan funding, the Department of Community Services will require the property owner to enter into an Agreement authorizing the project and agreeing to repayment terms.

5.4.2 Multiple Property Application

After confirming program loan funding and that the project is feasible, a mail ballot is undertaken (Vote #2). This ballot will include the information necessary for property owners to understand the financial implications and costs to individual properties, of the proposed electrification service, and provide each affected property owner with the opportunity to vote on whether the proposed service should proceed as planned and estimated.

Approval by a special majority of 65% of property owners in the proposed project area, is required for the project to be implemented.

5.5 Installation

If the required support is obtained, YEC and/or YECL, or the service provider in the case of an alternative service installation are responsible for the installation of electrical services based on the specific project contribution that was approved by the property owner(s) in the project area.

5.6 Recovery of Costs

After completion of the installation project and final costs are known, a regulation pursuant to the Assessment and Taxation Act will be prepared, to attach local improvement charges to all properties in the project area, for the recovery of the project costs. Local improvement charges are payable on an annual basis for a defined period (e.g., up to 15 years) or can be paid out as a lump sum.

Should CS become aware that a stand-alone system which was funded through this program is not functional or has been removed, the property owner may be required to pay the LIC in full immediately.

5.7 Deferment

Where a rural electrification system serves two or more properties, a property owner may chose not to hook up to the system and enter into an Agreement to defer payment of the Local Improvement Charge for up to 15 years, subject to legislative amendment, from the completion date of the system.

The property owner will be required to start paying the deferred Local Improvement Charge:

1) if they hook-up to the service;

2) at the expiry of the deferment period.

The property owner must pay the deferred Local Improvement Charge in full if the property is sold.