Department of Community Services

Community Affairs

Yukon Communities

There are 8 incorporated Municipalities in the Yukon (see below). There is a process in the Municipal Act that identifies how a community could become a municipality. The ultimate tool that is used at the end of the process is an Order In Council.

Local Advisory Councils represent unincorporated areas in the Yukon by giving advice on their local area needs to the Minister of Community Services. There are five local advisory councils (see below). There is a process set out in the Municipal Act that identifies how an area could become a Local Advisory Area.

Incorporated Municipalities

Local Advisory Areas

For more information about Yukon Communities:

Community Map Series

Local Government Directory

Yukon Community Profiles

About Yukon Communities

Travel Yukon Communities

2012 Municipal & Local Advisory Council Elections 2012